I got a million dollars worth of training Back in 1984…

Day 13 #30DaysofThanksgiving  I went back to my old high school the other day for a band practice for a reunion concert. Stepping back into that building was like going through a worm hole into a different time and era. Once I finally got to the band room, my head was flooded with SO many incredibly wonderful memories.But what I thought most about was the discipline that I learned in that room…which was …

bar none. Knees up, toes pointed, gum out, pivot, turn, left, left, left… This may sound minimal to people who prefer solo acts or soaking up attention…but when you are a part of a team, or in this case a band..you operate as one unit whether you have a baton, a horn or a drumstick….or are a freshman or a senior. Nobody is to stand out more than anyone else. Perfection is measured in how succinct and exact you are together, not how wonderful and talented you are by yourself (that’s a word for somebody right there). We worked hard at becoming one..everytime…all the time.It was evident that I wasn’t the only one there that learned the same lesson-whether they were in the band with me in the 80’s or later in the 90’s or even within the last 10 years. When we got together and began to practice it was automatically about teamwork. We took what was done in each era and taught each other to see what would work best now. In the end, the goal is one team, one cadence, one band-perfection. Corporations spend millions of dollars coaching and training their teams on how to operate at this level of collaboration. We learned it for free at 18875 Ryan Road on the other side of Mr. Latimer’s whistle…and for that I am #thankful