2013 Reading Challenge on Goodreads

“Information Changes the Seasons of your Life”- Dr. Stacia Pierce
“In all thy getting…get a BOOK”-C.D. Jamerson

I have always been an avid reader. Whether it was school, my Sunday School lesson, newspaper, magazines or just books I picked up on my own. I loved to be transformed to different places…meet new people…learn new things..all within the pages of a book. Reading a book is an investment of time, mind space and resources so over the past few years I have learned to choose more wisely what pieces of literature I will spend time with..I treat them as I do people. Choose wisely, you can’t get time back.

So this year I have taken it a step further and made a clear list within the Goodreagoodreadsds challenge and given myself a goal for the year. This year the goal is at least 40 books. Not including the time I daily read the bible and/or listen to the Bible Experience CD’s (HIGHLY recommend)
Between my kindle, hardcover books and borrowing some here and there I have every intention of meeting and surpassing this…but have chosen wisely… Multiple genres feeding different parts of my mind and intellect..and various authors with different perspectives and points of view. Everything chosen was for a reason and all of it isn’t fluffy feel good material. Reading is supposed to change you, open your mind, change your paradigms and catapult you into a new season…a new way of thinking. Hopefully my list will do just that. I am sharing because I was asked many times on Facebook and Twitter . Maybe this will help inspire others to incorporate more reading at some level in their lives.

Add your own interests and incorporate it with what you need to know to move your life to the next level. Don’t forget something for “entertainment” purposes. You will need a retreat from heavy hitting reading at LEAST 2-3 times a year. I also marked some “stretch” books. These are books that are out of my comfort zone, but I’m reading them anyway.

My first 20 on the list for now through June is:
1. Five Children and IT by E. Nesbit (Classic)
2. Visioneering by Andy Stanley (Business/Self Development)
3. Love and War by John & Stasi Eldridge (Marriage/Christian)
4. State of the Onion J. Eyzy (Mystery/retreat book)
5. Honey Hush By D. Dance (African American Anthology)
6. The Problem of Pain by C.S. Lewis (Christian)
7. Admired: 21 ways to double your value (Business/Self Development)
8. Failing Forward: How to make the most of your mistakes by: John C. Maxwell (Business/Christian/Self Development)
9. Why, Because you are anointed. (Christian Character/ Development)-Currently reading
10. Integrity: Courage to meet the demands of reality Dr. Henry Cloud (Non- Fiction/Leadership)
11. Dirty God: Jesus in the trenches By J. Moore (Christian/Non Fiction)
12. The Time Keeper By. M. Albom (Fable/Fiction/retreat book)
13. The Horse and His Boy By C.S. Lewis (Classic)- Currently reading
14. Plan B: Further thoughts on faith By Anne Lamott (plug: EXCELLENT writer..just phenomenal/Christian/Non Fiction)
15. Mr. Monk goes to Germany by Lee Goldberg (plug: another good writer.. younger very creative and great at character building/Fiction-Retreat book)
16. I See Black People: The Rise and Fall of African American-Owned Television and Radio (Non-Fiction/Historical) By K. Zook -Stretch book
17. Eating Well for Optimum Health: The Essential Guide to Food, Diet & Nutrition Dr. A. Weil (Healthy eating/nutrition)
18. Overdressed: The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion E. Cline (non-Fiction/research)
19. The 12 tribes of Hattie by A. Mathis (Historical Fiction)
20. Combining Old and New : Naturopathy for the 21st Century R. Thiel (Research/text Book/ Stretch book)

PLEASE comment on the post..add your choices and join me on Goodreads (CD Jamerson-see the column to your right for more information)