Don’t forget to remember…..

Ok so I got an email while I was on vacation saying I was accepted into a prestigious Leadership program.  Yea!!! …but that’s not my point.

During the application process I had several people indirectly tell me that they didn’t think I would be selected. They mentioned how tedious the selection process is and hundreds of applications are submitted but only 50 are selected…you really have to be connected and influential …minority women really don’t stand as high a chance …blah blah…and you know what.. I believed them. I immediately started thinking…yeah well..it was cool that I had the chance to apply and get the exposure and it is what it is….and then I just dropped it.

Then I remembered being in a similar situation about 10 years ago when I applied for the Executive Masters Education program for Harvard University. My own supervisor told me that people in my “position” didn’t apply for that. (At that time I was an executive assistant) She said that it was designed for Csuite leaders only. I told her that, that delineation was not mentioned in the rules so *shrug*…my application stayed in the mix. I tested and was accepted and because of my score the company I worked for had to pay for it 100%. Graduating from that program has opened more doors for me than almost anything I’ve ever done and to think…I almost let someone scare me out of even trying.dont-forget-to-remember

So why after seeing God do that…did I doubt Him this time? It’s simple. Recollection. Sometimes we get caught up in what we want next from God that we don’t recall the miracle in what He has already done. We work so hard to ignore and forget our past that we throw away the testimony attached to it.

There is no way I should have been shocked at what God did here…humbled, grateful but not shocked. God, I’m thankful for the opportunity, but Lord more than that I am thankful for the lesson…”don’t forget to remember…”

 

4 thoughts on “Don’t forget to remember…..

  1. I’m so proud of you. You can do all things through Christ. You have God on your side and there is no limit to what you will accomplish through him and with him. Your granddaddy Joe always said that after people have their say, that there is always a “but” so you can tell them about the God, that will never leave you or forsake you. Congratulations on this awesome accomplishment. You have infinite potentials. Love you.

    Darlene Stephens

  2. Wow! I really needed to read this! I have been so disappointed, for so long, that I almost forgot how God can miraculously get you from wherever you are, to wherever He wants you to be. I’m going to to start thinking bigger.

    Congratulations on your accomplishment! You are now and will always be my Phenominal Woman of God!

    Muriel

    1. Muriel…amen and praise God. Bigger bigger bigger in Jesus name…He is able to do exceeding abundantly above all you can ask or think!

Comments are closed.