Never forget your why…

imageThere is always a “why”… Your why is your drive…your catalyst…the reasoning behind the tenacity….it’s why you started and you would do wise not to forget it. Don’t just work, for the sake of working or surviving. Attach purpose to your grind.

My “why” came abruptly in the mail one day. My husband had opened bank accounts for his grandchildren and the statements came in the mail. I will never, ever forget that day. It was a wake up call that if I wanted to leave an inheritance for my grandchildren (we are a blended family) that I had better get busy or quite frankly I would be I direct disobedience to directives in the bible which clearly state to leave an inheritance to your children’s children. Now yes it will be more than money, (I have all sorts of stuff planned for them) but that startling realization jerked me into action.

My lil heirs…are my why.. They are the reason that “I am a gladiator, and I don’t get to run”. They are why I go into to work at 6am and sometimes work until 8pm…they are why I go to four meetings a day, overnight conferences, business trips, read and research until 3 am..luncheons on tops of dinners, spend weekends at fund raisers and collapse in bed fully dressed.

When I watch what I am building for them, it’s worth it. Every meeting I dread, or conference call I trudge through or project I tackle I remember my why. And I smile …they are why I started and why I will push, climb, work and WIN.